French Colonisation

French colonisation lasted for almost 90 years from 1722 to 1810. During this time, there were quite a few changes in the administration French East India Company, Royal administration, Convention and directoire administration, Napoleonic administration.

(Click to view)

British Colonisation

After the capture of the island in 1810 and following the Treaty of Paris, where Bourbon and some other French possessions were returned back to France, Mauritius became under the rule of the British monarchs. This British administration lasted for 158 years until independence was granted in 1968.

(Click to view)

Nice and useful sites

histoire genealogie France genweb

Memoire des hommes

Newsletter subscription

Fill in the fields below only if you wish to receive our newsletter.
Thank you for subscribing to our Newsletter.

Visits since August 2010


Your IP:
2018-01-16 12:16
© 2015-2016 CGMR All Rights Reserved. Designed By JC Dantier

offcanvas menu_en